Sent From My iPhone

Sent from my iPhone signature

Translation: I am a pretentious, self-centered, narcissistic twit.

I’ve never understood why people keep that signature on their phones. Do they really think that people are impressed that they sent an email from their iPhone? If so, they’re bragging that they’ve managed such a difficult process that only 2 billion other people have also done so.

Do they want the recipient to feel envious that they have an iPhone? This is highly probable, but at this point, highly ludicrous due to the overwhelming market dominance of the iPhone.

Are they trying to advertise that they are following the herd of mediocrity? It’s the opposite of declaring individuality, sort of like getting a tattoo. I am showing how much I want to be exactly like everybody else and I have no personality! They declare to the world that they have entered the least exclusive club on the planet.

Are they secretly being paid by Apple to advertise phones? I’m surprised that Apple doesn’t charge for the signature. Fanboys would probably pay a monthly fee to put it on their correspondence. I’m surprised that voicemails don’t have a tag line stating that the phone call was made on an iPhone, but that’s highly likely to actually happen in the near future.

Of course it could be that they’re just plain stupid and don’t even know how it got there.

Do yourselves a favor and remove the signature.

Sent from my totally rad device that’s way better than yours.

2 thoughts on “Sent From My iPhone

  1. Translation/summation of entire article: “I am a pretentious, self-centered, narcissistic twit.”

    Did you stop to consider that it could be they want the recipient to know that they sent the email from a mobile device instead of a real computer? Maybe as a way of hand-waving away any issues with regards to typographical errors, grammar mistakes, or the brevity of the response. In case you’ve never taken the time to consider it, people type differently depending on the type of device they’re using, so keeping a signature that indicates, “Hey, I replied to you on my phone, sorry for mistakes or not making a longer response” makes sense.

    Then again, I shouldn’t be surprised by this article, given the name of this blog …

  2. Cheers, Mate! Nice try, but that’s a ridiculous argument. If your angle was true, the signature would be apologetic due to being sent from A phone.

Leave a Reply

